About

Hi there! Welcome to my blog. I’m Shannon and I created this blog to write about a variety of interests. My main topics will be pets (currently just dogs and cats), crafting/DIY/sewing, gardening and house plants, and family life. Other topics may include favorite recipes and money saving tips.

I am a married mother of 3, ages 10, 14, and 16. Our family also includes two dogs and a cat. Allie is a 10-year-old tortishell cat that spends much of her day sleeping. Morgan is a 6-year-old poodle terrier mix and Luna is a 1-year old German Shepherd Dog. I currently work full time, though I was a stay at home mom and in-home daycare operator until about 5 years ago.

I started gardening 9 years ago after we purchased our first house. Since I love plants so much, and live in the upper Midwest, I have both outdoor gardens and house plants. I enjoy seeing green plants, and pretty flowers, inside while it is almost all white outside. Since I live in the upper Midwest most of my gardening tips and information will be geared towards zone 4.

I’ve been crafting and sewing for several years as time allows. Currently I’ve been exploring DIY dog toys and pet supplies and will be sharing my successes (and failures) on this blog. I also have a couple of quilt projects under way that I will share at some point. I decided to make quilts for each of my kids (and eventually my husband and me) out of old clothes. I started with the one for my youngest since I had the most clothes to work with for hers. I learned a lot from that quilt and was able to make fewer mistakes on the next one. The one for my oldest just needs a border and then it will be ready for the final steps. The last one, for my son is in the very beginning stages and I will share the entire process as I work on it.